By 2021, You'll Need Authorization To Travel To Most of Europe

Posted on Mar 28, 2019

Are you or your traveling employees headed to France, Germany, or Italy in 2021? Do you conduct business or have corporate interests in Poland, Greece, or Spain?

In an effort to enhance international security, the European Union has ushered in new travel measures. Starting on January 1, 2021, traveling to Europe will become more complicated, because US citizens will have to apply and get authorization through the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) to visit the Schengen Zone.

The Schengen Zone encompasses 26 European countries which do not have internal borders, allowing people to move between them freely. So, what 26 countries are in the Schengen Zone and require an ETIAS authorization in 2021? The list is as follows:

  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Poland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Czech Republic
  • Malta
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Lichtenstein
  • Switzerland

An ETIAS is not a visa; it’s an authorization which is valid for three years. The ETIAS application will be online, require a fee (7 euros, which equals about 8 US dollars), and will take about 10 minutes to complete. Of course, you will still need a passport to travel as well.

The European commission believes that the new travel measurements will facilitate more efficient border checks, avoid bureaucracy and delays for travelers when presenting themselves at the borders, ensure a coordinated and harmonized risk assessment of third-country nationals, and substantially reduce the number of refusals of entry at border crossing points.

Dimitris Avramopoulos, the EU commissioner for migration, home affairs, and citizenship, says, "The new ETIAS will ensure that we no longer have an information gap on visa-free travelers.”

About 60 other countries will be required to apply for the ETIAS authorization as well before entering the Schengen Area, including Brazil, Canada, New Zealand, Singapore, Israel, and Mauritius.

The world is constantly changing, and with it comes new rules and regulations. It’s important that your travel risk management program provides you with the most up-to-date information as possible to protect your organization.

To always stay one step ahead, and avoid confusion on behalf of your employees, just turn to us, the way numerous organizations have. NC4 Risk Center™ provides early warning and predictive intelligence on incidents and events, which can be visualized alongside employee travel itineraries to better understand the organization's risk exposure. For more information contact us today at 877-624-4999.


Latest Blog Posts

Blog Categories

Contact Us